I was asked to clarify the rules on digging-in and wrote this. Thought you all might appreciate it.
Foxholes and Digging-in.
Ok, I did a bunch of reading and got a lot of clarifications. Here is the low down. Except where stated this only applies to Infantry and Gun teams.
1. Make a skill check for a PLATOON, if you pass the PLATOON is dug-in.
2. Every TEAM that attempted to dig in is now counted as having moved.
3. Any TEAM already in bullet-proof cover does not dig and can operate normally.
4. If a TEAM leaves a foxhole, the TEAM is no longer dug-in.
5. Exception: Any team in a defending platoon ending the assault step in the platoonâ€™s foxholes remains dug-in.
6. Any TEAM that is dug-in gains BULLET-PROOF cover and CONCEALMENT.
7. Exception: Heavy and Immobile guns do not get concealment.
8. Vehicles and Cavalry can not dig in and can operate normally.
9. Digging-in is an option to use in place of movement.
So here are some example scenarios of the rule in action:
Joe is dug-in, and so is Sean. During his movement step he moves all the teams in the platoon, except two LMG teams to provide covering fire, to assault Sean. The LMG teams remain dug-in. The rest of the platoon is not. When Sean shoots at Joe:
1. Calculate odds to hit Joes platoon based on the easiest target to hit, the non-dug-in teams if they are not out of LOS.
2. Determine hits on Joes platoon using principle of easiest target first, the non-dug-in teams if they are not out of LOS.
3. After the assault Sean finds all his remaining teams are still in the position the platoon occupied and thus remains dug-in. This is true even if any individual team is not in its original foxhole.
4. After the assault Joe can NOT move his teams back into foxholes because he was not the defender in the assault however, the two LMG teams are still dug-in.
Tom has armored Panzergrenadiers with two teams on foot, two teams in a building, and four empty halftracks. He decides to dig in.
1. The teams on foot are required to dig in.
2. The teams in the building are already in bullet-proof cover and thus donâ€™t dig in, do not count has having moved, and can operate normally.
3. The halftracks can operate normally, they donâ€™t dig in.
Sean has his DAK Armoured Aufklarungsschwadron conveniently positioned behind a wood. This platoon includes a team in a truck. On his first turn he dismounts two teams and moves them to the far side of the woods, while the other teams remain mounted. On his second turn he digs in the platoon. What is the result?
1. The halftracks can continue to operate normally.
2. Two infantry teams dismount, but they can not dig in, as digging-in is an option to use instead of moving, and dismounting counts as having moved. These teams can operate as normal, but do count as having moved from the dismount.
3. The infantry teams that reamin in the halftracks can operate as normal as they canâ€™t dig a hole in the bottom of the vehicle and are not required to dig-in.
4. The infantry teams in the halftracks are not in bullet-proof cover, they are in halftracks.
5. The infantry team in the truck is also not in bullet-proof cover, he is in a truck. He does not dig-in, neither does the truck, nor is he forced to dismount and dig-in, and may operate as normal.
Easy mistakes to make about being dug-in but just arenâ€™t true:
1. If one team moves the platoon is no longer in dug-in. False, just the moving team is no longer dug-in.
2. If one team moves the platoon is no longer concealed. False, just that team is no longer concealed.
3. One team shoots so the platoon is no longer concealed. False, the platoon remains concealed from being dug-in.
4. My platoon tried to dig in so the transports canâ€™t move. False, you can still move them like normal.
5. Teams mounted on a vehicle cant do anything the turn the team digs in. False, the team and vehicle operate as normal, including dismounting.
Some comments on Gone-to-Ground:
1. Any team can be Gone-to-Ground, including Infantry, Vehicles, Tanks, Guns, and Cavalry.
2. Vehicles, Tanks, Guns, and Cavalry are only Gone-to-Ground if they are in concealing terrain.
3. Infantry and Man-packed Gun teams can go to ground even if they are in the open.
4. Gone-to-Ground is determined by TEAM, not platoon, the same way it is with being dug-in.
5. A single team in my Gone-to-Ground platoon shoots, so now the whole platoons is no longer gone to ground. False, only that team is no longer Gone-to-Ground.
MRB 81 â€“ Foxholes
MRB 42 â€“ Transports
MRB 63 â€“ Gone-to-Ground
Forum clarification by Phil - fow.flamesofwar.com/vi...s&start=30